Home Making · Recipes

Zerbato Café~ Lemon Pepper Chicken Noodle Soup

img_2563Lemon Pepper Chicken Noodle Soup 

Hello everyone!

So I’m a huge fan of lemon, I always have them in my house. I love the freshness it can add to any dish, I seriously look for ways to incorporate it into dishes or drinks all the time. In the summer, I make lots of salads, fresh veggies and grilled meats with fresh squeezed lemon on them. In order to get my lemon fix in the winter, I’ve tweaked some classic soup and pasta recipes. Today’s recipe is a fun twist on a classic soup; Chicken Noodle Soup.

To make this recipe even simpler for a mid-week meal, I like to use a  already cooked rotisserie chicken from Costco or my local grocery story. Another thing to remember with this recipe and most soup recipes, you can alter it to your taste. You can add other veggies or omit veggies all together, use more or less lemon, substitute noodles for rice, etc., etc., etc., It’s really up to what you prefer.

Another thing I do differently from a lot of soup recipes that have pasta in them, I cook my pasta or egg noodles separately because I’m an al dente snob. LOL I don’t like soggy, over cooked noodles, so if I cook them separately I have more control over how done they are. When it’s time to serve the soup, I add the cooked noodles to a bowl and ladel the soup over the top.

Anyways let’s get to the recipe! I hope you enjoy this soup. Stay warm!

INGREDIENTS:

•2 tablespoons olive oil
•3-4 carrots large carrots cut into bite-size pieces
•2 stalks celery, chopped
•1/2 cup of white onion, chopped
• 3 garlic cloves, chopped
•1 tablespoon of dried or fresh parsley
•1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
•Salt and black pepper
•1 pre-cooked rotisserie chicken, de-boned, removed skin and shredded, save one of the large bones for flavor
• 6 cups chicken broth
• 12 ounces of cooked al dente pasta such as bowtie
• 2-3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
•4 chopped green onions for garnish

DIRECTIONS:

Heat the oil in a large pot or Dutch oven over medium heat. Add the carrots, celery, garlic, white onion, thyme, 1½ teaspoons salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper. Cook, stirring frequently, until the vegetables are slightly tender, about 7 mins.
Add the shredded chicken, 1 of the large chicken bones, broth, and 4 cups water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer on low for about, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove the chicken bone and discard.
Meanwhile, cook the pasta in a separate pot until al dente. Add lemon juice and parsley to the soup and stir to combine, season to taste with additional salt and pepper. Serve hot and garnish with green onions!

Bon appetito!

🍋Brooke🍋
Ps. This soup can be frozen in freezer-safe containers for up to 3 months. To reheat, run the containers under warm water until the soup slides out. Transfer to a pot and cook over medium heat, covered, stirring occasionally, until heated through.

 

 

 

Leave a comment